Humanistic Care in Medical School

I do solemnly swear, by whatever each of us holds most sacred…

Medical students conclude their white coat ceremonies by reciting the Hippocratic Oath – at least, a modern and truncated form of the oath. The Hippocratic Oath symbolizes the essence of health care: a covenant between healthcare practitioners and the patients they serve. This is a sacred relationship. Patients submit to another human being, oftentimes a stranger, to heal their physical and mental ailments. Physicians reciprocate by honoring patient autonomy, justice, beneficence, and non-maleficence. Ultimately, I am now part of a community of physicians dedicated to patient healing and medical ethics.

That I will be loyal to the Profession of Medicine and just and generous to its members…

I began the first year and a half of medical school building my knowledge base. My classmates and I were getting assimilated to the community and admired our faculty members for directing our education. I saw my first ‘patient’ on the second day of medical school. It was an assignment to meet a child with autism spectrum disorder at the patient’s home. He was a brilliant teenager who struggled with social skills and emotional intelligence. He told me he had great aspirations and planned to apply to my alma mater, William and Mary. We bonded about this common interest and discussed the challenges he faced and the therapies he found beneficial. The first patient encounter of medical school was an important one; I learned that my patients teach me just as much as I can teach them.

That I will lead my life and practice my art in uprightness and honor…

My attraction to the art of medicine is the pain of the human condition and my role in its healing. I act according to what I believe is right and what the patients believe is right, serving patients to the best of my ability. Patients deserve respect and autonomy throughout this process; the patient role is one that can be vulnerable, or one that is empowered with the support of good healthcare providers.

That into whatsoever house I will enter: it shall be for the good of the sick to the utmost of my power, my holding myself far aloof from wrong, from corruption, from the tempting of others to vice…

There are certainly days that make me question whether the pursuit of medicine is worth the time, energy, and sanity. Medicine is a grueling career path, one that challenges my physical ability to stay awake, my mental ability to stay focused, and my emotional ability to stay engaged in my personal life. Enthusiasm wanes with burn-out. I understand how physicians can lose their heart (i.e. humanity) when treating countless patients, who become diagnoses rather than human beings. In those times when humanity wanes, I must stay grounded to the reasons I pursued this career path to begin with: my relationship with the patient and my dedication to healing. I enjoy supporting my community – at the hospital, in their homes, outside healthcare settings; at the same time, I am uplifted by my colleagues and patients on a daily basis.

That I will exercise my art solely for the cure of my patients, and will give no drug, perform no operation for a criminal purpose, even if solicited; far less suggest it…

I remember my first patient who died. I had been following an 85-year-old gentleman on the medicine ward. He was transferred from the ICU after a remarkable degree of recovery from a stroke complicated by intracranial hemorrhage after administration of tPA. Refusing feeding tubes, my patient was unable to swallow and aspirated on food or water with any meal he would take. He became progressively hypernatremic. This was my first patient with overt delirium, falling in and out of lucid states. He refused water, was a difficult ‘stick’, and would pull out IVs overnight even when he had family or a 1:1 sitter. I sat in with him and his family for numerous discussions. I became the main contact for my patient and his family, with the support of my residents and attending.

The patient told his daughters that he was ready to die. I held one of his daughter’s hands as she walked away from her dad crying. His family feared hospice but finally agreed that home hospice would be ideal for him, as he preferred to die at home. The last time I saw him was Friday – the last day of my inpatient Internal Medicine rotation. He told me, “I want to go outside.” I told him, “We are getting you home. You will finally get to go outside.” I got a phone call Sunday that he died at 10am, two hours before the ambulance was scheduled to take him home. My heart fell apart. I was attending my grandfather’s funeral that day and felt overwhelmed by the fragility of life. At the same time, I felt the need to celebrate the lives of two wonderful men who left behind families and friends who loved them.

That whatsoever I shall see or hear of the lives of my patients which is not fitting to be spoken, I will keep inviolably secret…

As a medical student, I have the opportunity to sit by my patients’ beds, speak with them (sometimes for hours when there was time), and learn their life stories. Being a healthcare worker is a privilege, one that I will continue to honor by valuing what my patients tell me and serving as their advocate. By learning about my patients, I gain respect for who they are as people and how that can affect their medical decisions. Part of being a physician is allowing the patient to guide treatment therapies to attain the best possible medical outcome. This journey is one that optimizes their values with respect to religion, culture, upbringing, and circumstance.

These things do I swear. Let each of us bow the head in sign of acquiescence…

I define myself by my academic contributions, compassion for people, and by my desire to change the world for the better. I want to be a doctor, but I am only beginning to understand what that entails. I am learning about pain of the human condition and what I can do to promote its healing. I am learning what it means to do what I can to help my patients and to let go of what I cannot control. I am learning to appreciate the good moments when my patients experience recovery and to reflect when it comes to poor patient outcomes. I aspire to be a physician who heals my patients – not just with my knowledge – but with a love for mankind and compassion for others that motivate me to serve my community.

And now, if I will be true to this, my oath, may good repute ever be mine.

One thought on “Humanistic Care in Medical School

  1. This is a fine article, well written. Starting out in a profession is like a marriage. If we can keep the honeymoon going, you could have a lifetime of bliss. But sooner or later the honeymoon ends, and we must come back to reality. Medicine is a noble profession, and I say, Amen to all who can maintain its nobility. May heaven give you grace and strength to maintain that nobility in the face of challenges that cause so many to compromise their sacred oath.

Leave a Reply

