Phase Two at COT: Week 3

Alas, I made it to Week 4. I feel like we are about to hit the promised land because graduation is in sight!

Because I have my final PT exam in the morning, as well as my final academic test, as well as open ranks where they inspect uniforms and ask military questions, as well as room inspections in the afternoon, I am going to keep this short. Highlights:

– We got phased up last Monday. This means we are allowed to talk quietly at dinners and go around the base on the weekend. The first meal we ate outside the DFAC was fantastic (sub and FRIES). Also got to go grocery shopping and feel like a real person again. Did my squadron photographic officer duties at the UPS Store and BOOM, errands accomplished outside the OTS complex. The power of printing and shopping is something we should all appreciate.

– On Wednesday, my 5k time was under 24 minutes, major improvement of about 5 minutes from my last timed 5k. We also had picture day (yay for getting my photo officer duties in) and presented our briefs. My brief on human rights in Iran was not as coherent as I wanted it to be. I was rushed with the time limit and skipped over a lot of information (I was also interrupted by an “active shooter” exercise where we had to barricade ourselves inside the flight room). Everything is a learning experience. All in all, I enjoyed listening to the briefs and learning about cultural/regional differences and the US military.

– We went through a series of obstacles last week for field leadership training. We’ll be doing a LOT more leadership training this coming week (deep breaths thinking about the ropes course. I’ll channel the progressive relaxation techniques my flight did earlier today in anticipation for our busy day tomorrow).

Drilling and marching

Drilling and marching

– Standardization: we have to keep everything standardized (the same as everything else and everybody else), including but not limited to our dorm rooms, uniforms, name tags, how we organize books, etc.

– Had a field trip to a military museum about enlisted heritage and history. Twas interesting and a nice getaway to Gunter on a rainy day.

Museum time with my flight mates

Museum time with my flight mates

– The Bravo Bombers are continuing to rock it. I believe we currently rank in the top 3 flights. We got one of the highest flight averages on our big academic test Monday (with the smallest standard deviation of all 21 flights). This past week we won flight of the week in our squadron, as well as academic flight of the week and social butterflies (we like to smile and be nice to other people, go figure).

Bravo Bombers slash the Bravo Bunch with our spoils :) #winning

Bravo Bombers slash “the Bravo Bunch” with our spoils #winning

Peace, Love, and Bravo.

One thought on “Phase Two at COT: Week 3

  1. I love these updates. Sounds like things are going awesome. I can tell you’re being challenged, are excelling as only you can do. I miss you so much, and am so proud of you. I’m sending you all of my heart and my love!

Leave a Reply

